New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Lizard Music - Arizone!

Omnivore Recordings

  • £17.08

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: OVCD452
Barcode: 810075110791
Release Date: 08 Oct 2021
Genre: Alternative

First new release from Lizard Music in over two decades Since their hiatus, band members have joined Wilco, become the musical director for Cat Power, been a featured guest on RuPaul’s Drag Race, and worked with artists including Lana Del Rey, Brian Wilson, The Monkees, and more! Available on CD, Digital, and double-LP What Lizard Music says about Arizone! This collection of buzzy, whirly pop songs from a parallel dimension is a testament to Martin Short, Martin Sheen, Sheena Easton, Tina Turner, and Tiny Tim. Arizone! is better than discovering never-before seen discs for a View-Master. Arizone! is the sound of four old friends who spent their formative years playing music, traveling, and learning about the world, reuniting after a 25 year hiatus to compare notes and wound up with a one-way ticket to Arizone! Lizard Music began in Atlantic Highlands, NJ in 1989 when high school friends Mikael Jorgensen and Erik Paparozzi started learning and writing songs with a four-track. They pillaged their parents' record collections and discovered the musical universes of The Beatles, Frank Zappa, Captain Beefheart, XTC, James Brown and The Meters. In the fall of 1990, Lizard Music (named after the book by Daniel Pinkwater) was hired to be the backing band for David Peel and The Lower East Side at the recently-closed Brighton Bar in Long Branch, NJ, which would serve as the unofficial home base for the band for the next five years. In 1991, Chris Apple joined the band on bass and Craig Smith on drums and the “classic” Lizard Music lineup was solidified. Their vocal harmony-driven surreal pop sensibility stood in stark contrast to the grungy testosterone-addled sludge rock that overtook the Jersey Shore in the early 90s. After independent releases (including their Steve Albini-produced debut) the band toured for a few years (with Pere Ubu, and sharing the stage with Yo La Tengo and Jonathan Fire Eater), and the band went on hiatus in 1997. In 2009, they reformed to headline a benefit concert. Then, in August of 2020 while the world was stuck inside during quarantine, Erik sent a text to Mikael, Chris and Craig about working on some ideas. With a mix of trepidation, excitement and curiosity, work on Arizone! began.

1. The Crow Flies
2. The Mixtape
3. Keystone Cops
4. Arizone!
5. Under The Table
6. They Did Their Best
7. Comes And Goes
8. Laughing In The Face Of Love
9. What’s My Line?
10. You Should Be Proud
11. Make That Drink To Go
12. Better Believe
13. In Jest
14. Impossible
15. Naked In Las Vegas [Bonus Track]

More From This Artist: Lizard Music

Shipping calculated at checkout.