1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Liza Minnelli - Live in New York 1979 (2LP Red Vinyl Edition)

Real Gone Music

  • £47.41

Format: 2LP Red Vinyl Edition
Catalogue No.: RLGM13491PMI
Barcode: 848064013495
Release Date: 08 Jul 2022
Genre: Pop

Liza Minnelli’s Live in New York 1979 (newly titled to avoid confusion with Liza’s 1987 Carnegie Hall album) will be available in two unique formats. On vinyl, its 2 LPs will be housed inside a gatefold jacket featuring the absolutely stunning original cover art by Andy Warhol. The insert has new introductions by both Ms. Minnelli and Great American Songbook champion Michael Feinstein, both of whom served as executive producers for this release, plus photos of the artist and liner notes from reissue producers Joe Marchese and Charles L. Granata. The audio has been fully remastered from the original tapes by Mike Milchner at SonicVision for a front-row musical experience.
But we have prepared something extra-special for the CD release. Liza also kept pristine multitrack tapes of all three nights recorded at Carnegie Hall. The tapes revealed a treasure trove of performances not included on the original double album including James Taylor’s “Everybody Has the Blues,” Kander and Ebb’s “Arthur in the Afternoon” and “Mr. Cellophane” (the latter sung by future Dreamgirls star Obba Babatunde), a Minnelli/Babatunde duet of Cole Porter’s “You Do Something to Me,” the funky disco jam “Dance Across the Floor,” and even a beautiful nod from Liza to her mother, Judy Garland, with a verse of “On the Atchison, Topeka, and the Santa Fe.” These tapes have been painstakingly restored and beautifully mixed by acclaimed engineer Ted Carfrae (Doris Day, Cilla Black) for this first-ever COMPLETE presentation of Liza’s Carnegie Hall show from curtain up to curtain down. Here’s your ticket to hear what those in the audience in 1979 have been talking about ever since.

1. How Long Has This Been Going
On/It’s a Miracle
2. My Ship/The Man I Love
3. Some People
4. Come In from the Rain
1. London Town
2. New York Medley
1. Someone to Watch over Me
2. Twelve Fellas
3. You & I/The Honeymoon Is Over/
Happy Anniversary
4. City Lights
1. Cabaret
2. Shine On Harvest Moon
3. But the World Goes ‘Round
4. Bows

More From This Artist: Liza Minnelli

Shipping calculated at checkout.