New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Ligeti Quartet - Songbooks, Vol 1


  • £9.90

Format: CD Album
Catalogue No.: NONCLSS039
Release Date: 9th October 2020
Genre: Alternative/Punk (Alternative)

01: Sai Ma (feat. Christian Mason)
02: Dyngylday (feat. Christian Mason)
03: Eki Attar (feat. Christian Mason)
04: Kuda Yry (feat. Christian Mason)
05: Ezir-Kara (feat. Christian Mason)
06: S'iscravamentu (feat. Christian Mason)
07: Ballate a Ballu Tundu (feat. Christian Mason)
08: Satiras (feat. Christian Mason)
09: Muttos (feat. Christian Mason)
10: Sivunittinni (feat. Tanya Tagaq)

Songbooks, Vol. One is the debut album from Ligeti Quartet, one of the UK's leading and innovative ensembles. The record is the result of a longstanding collaboration between Ligeti Quartet and renowned British composer Christian Mason. The first of two volumes, the record is inspired by traditional forms of overtone (or throat-singing) from around the world, taking inspiration from the Tuvan vocal tradition of Khöömii and the practice of the Tenores in Sardinia. The album also features a complementary piece written by Canadian composer and throat singer Tanya Tagaq, winner of the Polaris Prize for best Canadian album in 2014, for Animism.

Ligeti Quartet has established a reputation as one of the UK's leading ensembles, breaking new ground through innovative programming, supporting emerging composers and taking new music to diverse audiences. 2020 marks 10 years since their formation.

British composer Christian Mason is enjoying a prolific career with an array of prestigious commissions. Winner of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung Composer Prize in 2015, recent premieres have included works for Ensemble Recherche (documented on his upcoming CD with the group, Zwischen den Sternen, released on Winter & Winter in October 2020), Arditti Quartet, Vienna Philharmonic and Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

More From This Artist: Ligeti Quartet

Shipping calculated at checkout.