1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Lee "Scratch" Perry - King Scratch (Musical Masterpieces from the Upsetter Ark-ive) [2CD Digipack]

Trojan Records

  • £13.86

Format: 2 x CD
ICPN: 4050538784800
Release Date: 26 Aug 2022
Genre: Reggae / Dub

Arguably the greatest Jamaican record producer of all time, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry was instrumental in transforming the island’s national sound throughout the Sixties and Seventies, with his unique approach to music making pushing the music beyond previously perceived boundaries.

To mark the first anniversary of his passing, the very best of his work is showcased across a number of products, all of which effectively demonstrate why Perry was widely venerated figure for so long..

The deluxe box set comprises four vinyl LPs and four CD sets featuring his best known and most influential recordings including a previously unreleased mix of Junior Murvin’s powerful ‘Police And Thieves’, UK chart-buster ‘Hurt So Good’ by Susan Cadogan and the Upsetters’ boss reggae classic ‘Return Of Django’, as well as numerous major Jamaican hits.

Aldo included in the set is a 50 page fully illustrated page book, penned by Scratch’s official biographer, David Katz and featuring an array photos by celebrated photographer Adrian Boot, and a newly designed two sided full colour 24” x 24” poster.

The 2x gatefold LP and 2x CD set collection focus upon of the legendary music-maker’s best known productions from the Sixties and Seventies, performed by some of the giants of Jamaican music, with both extensive notes on the man whose talent and imagination took reggae to new heights of excellence.

2CD Track List

CD 1: THE EARLY YEARS, 1968 - 1976
1. People Funny Boy - Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry
2. Tighten Up - The Inspirations
3. Return Of Django - The Upsetters
4. Shocks Of Mighty – Dave Barker
5. Place Called Africa – Junior Byles
6. All Africans (7” mix) – Little Roy +
7. Beat Down Babylon - Junior Byles
8. Words Of My Mouth - The Gatherers
9. Bucky Skank – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry & The Upsetters
10. Jungle Lion (7” mix) – Lee Perry & The Upsetters
11. Hurt So Good (7” mix) - Susan Cadogan
12. Curly Locks - Junior Byles
13. Three Blind Mice – Max Romeo
14. Three Times Three - King Tubby & The Upsetters
15. Sipple Out Deh (Ja. mix) – Max Romeo
16. Roast Fish And Corn Bread (Ja. mix) – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry

1. One Step Forward (Jamaican mix) – Max Romeo
2. Ital Corner - Prince Jazzbo
3. Police And Thieves (12” mix) – Junior Murvin & Jah Lion *
4. Chase The Devil / Disco Devil – Max Romeo & Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry with The Full Experience *
5. Vibrate Onn – Augustus Pablo
6. Natty Pass Through Rome - Prince Jazzbo
7. Fire Fe The Vatican (7” mix) – Max Romeo
8. Roots Train (7” mix) - Junior Murvin +
9. Open The Gate – Watty Burnett +
10. Soul Fire (Jamaican mix) – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry
11. Neckodememus (7” mix) – The Congos
12. Sons Of Slaves (7” mix) – Junior Delgado +
13. Bafflin' Smoke Signal (7” mix) - Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry *
14. Stay Dread – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry
15. One Drop – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry
16. I Am A Madman – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry
17. Exodus (7” mix) – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry +
18. Jamaican E.T. (7” mix) – Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry +

* Previously unreleased
+ Previously unreleased digitally

More From This Artist: Lee "Scratch" Perry Lee Perry

Shipping calculated at checkout.