1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Laurie Tompkins – Fatty


  • £12.04

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: TTTT016
Barcode: 5060114369986
Release Date: 03 Jun 2022
Genre: Experimental/Electronic

‘Fatty’ is a desperate suite of consoling, tanked songs by UK composer Laurie Tompkins. Friends’ samples, instruments and voices sag and soar through intimately deranged, muckily decadent productions. The mind runs fast while the body lags, sludge in a cage, fat coagulating on bones. Opulent throw-downs from Teresa Winter, Gwilly Edmondez, Eliza McCarthy and Otto Willberg are the backdrop for Laurie’s voice to heave into the sky, or lilt, baffled, through the gunk. Elsewhere, Gwilly and Jess Hickie-Kallenbach (Still House Plants) are all power, grain, and delight as they sing through a scrub of electric violin and too-smooth keys. Aaron Parker binges through manic arabesques for spinnet, xylophone and vibraphone on “Sombor Shuffle”, as strangely graceful as the Nuggets’ no 15.
The album is accompanied by videos and images by Joel Wycherley, whose dummy burb of dredged-up ornaments, wasted dwellings, and mouldy mother nature feels realer and faker than life. His 33-33 debut is one of Laurie’s three spring ’22 discs, between an album with Eliza McCarthy for Entr’acte and another with Eliza and Ashley Paul for Hyperdelia.Laurie Tompkins (b.1990) is a UK composer, performer and co-founder and co-director of the Slip label. From scores for samples, instruments and voices he creates a grabbable music that dreams and confounds. Bodies, things, words, and sounds strain under duress, looping their way through scenes of grubby presence, not-quite riff, mouldy echo, and swollen bombast. Laurie co-directs Slip, which has released music by Yeah You, Mica Levi, Julia Reidy, Bass Clef, Object Collection, Mentos Gulgendo, Chaines & Competition. Old releases of his own include ‘Ample Profanity’ (2018), with cellist Oliver Coates; ‘Heat, War, Sweat, Law’ (2016); and ‘Exorcise’ (2021), as Yes Indeed with bassist Otto Willberg, justly hailed as “proper, mad scones” (Boomkat). Performances: Café Oto, Aldeburgh Music, Spike Island, Harp Art Lab (Harplinge) and National Sawdust (New York). Commissions: House of Bedlam, Daylight Editions, LSO Soundhub Scheme, ddmmyy and 840 series. Radio: specials for NTS and Resonance FM and a session with Adam Bohman recorded at Maida Vale studios, broadcast on BBC Radio 3.

Tracklist 1. Agdum Cresh (feat. Teresa Winter) 2.Kelly (feat. Otto Willberg) 3.Gaz (feat. Jess Hickie-Kallenbach) 4.Egg (feat. Gwilly Edmondez) 5.Champ (feat. Gwilly Edmondez) 6.Sombor Shuffle (feat. Aaron Parker) 7.Dreams (feat. Eliza McCarthy)

More From This Artist: Laurie Tompkins

Shipping calculated at checkout.