1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

KillerStar - KillerStar

High Wire Records

  • £30.58

Format: LP
Catalogue No.: HW003LP
Barcode: 0781005025327
Release Date: 15 Mar 2024
Genre: Rock

KillerStar’s self-titled debut album weaves modern and classic rock into a new distinct sound that features sophisticated harmonies, catchy hooks and elements of art rock. The band have joined forces with a team of musicians and trusted collaborators from David Bowie’s band: Mike Garson on piano, Earl Slick and Mark Plati on guitar, Gail Ann Dorsey and Tim Lefebvre on bass, Emm Gryner on backing vocals, and Donny McCaslin on saxophone. Collectively, these musicians have contributed to almost every era of Bowie’s vast discography, from the landmark ‘Aladdin Sane’ to the final goodbye of ‘Blackstar’. KillerStar have created the seemingly impossible: a band that’s new and essential for 2024, but also one that channels the creative ethos and independent spirit of the man himself.
Whilst you may hear some flavours of Bowie, the album really doesn’t feel like an homage to The Thin White Duke. And that’s simply because it was never intended to be one. This debut by KillerStar is a rock album with its own distinct character. The album comprises memorable songs that blend crunchy guitars with textured synths, hook-laden vocals and ethereal harmonies. The band is led by Rob Fleming (songwriter, guitar, synths) and James Sedge (Drums). Guest player Earl Slick contributes guitar on all but one track, bass is covered by Gail Ann Dorsey and Tim Lefebvre. Mike Garson plays piano on several songs. Emm Gryner sings backing vocals throughout the album. Mark Plati adds additional guitar and keyboards on a couple of tracks. Donny McCaslin contributes sax playing to the song ‘Falling Through’. The album’s impeccable musicianship balances widescreen classic rock with a dynamic, modern alt-rock fire and infectious energy. Sonically the album oozes cinematic fidelity and character, mixed by Dave Eringa (Manic Street Preachers, Idlewild).

Track Listing: 1. Should've Known Better 2. Everybody Loves A Hero 3. Got Me All Wrong 4. Go (Hold On Tight) 5. Feel It 6. You're A Chameleon 7. Too Late 8. Falling Through

More From This Artist: KillerStar

Shipping calculated at checkout.