1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Kevin Richard Martin - Frequencies for Leaving Earth Vol 2

Intercranial Recordings

  • £13.50

Label // Intercranial Recordings
Catalogue // ICR02
Genre // Electronic
Format // Cassette
Release Date // 7th August 2020

The second volume of Kevin Martin’s ‘Frequencies for Leaving Earth’ series is a 10 track / 50 minute ascent into airless frequencies written for mellotron and sub bass and making repeated use of Shepard tones for an elevated sense of weightlessness and disorientation. The Tarkovsky references are even more apt for this one, highly recommended for Solaris/Stalker freaks as well as anyone into the music of Iancu Dumitrescu, Ligeti or Harry Bertoia’s sculptural Sonambience.

Martin’s credentials go far beyond his best known work as The Bug, his discography extends deep into myriad projects and collaborations that date as far back as the late 80’s, he’s been a player, a writer, a compiler and a vocal enthusiast for a vast array of genres and underground movements for as long as we can remember, and his intersection with what’s now lazily termed ‘Ambient’ dates at least as far as his work with Experimental Audio Research, on the mighty (and still, somehow, little known) ‘The Köner Experiment’ in 1997.

‘Frequencies for Leaving Earth Vol 2’ follows the pulsing, slo-mo pacing of the first with a more petrified formation, rendered in monochromatic shades that are austere and discomforting. Martin references Techno Animal’s ‘Re-entry’ as a direct antecedent, as well as his full length ’Sirens’ which was released on Lawrence English Room40 label last year - both in the vein of ambient detachment Martin is fast becoming known for, although for our money you can easily imagine Roger Robinson’s instantly recognisable drawl riding over ‘Escape Velocity’, making us think of King Midas Sound’s peerlessly creepy ‘Solitude’.

1. Escape Velocity
2. Adrift
3. Sub Atomic
4. Narcotic Loop
5. Transcendent
6.  The Void
7.Angel of Death
8. Point of Disintegration
9. The Light
10. Beyond

More From This Artist: kevin richard martin

Shipping calculated at checkout.