New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Katy J Pearson - Return

Heavenly Recordings

  • £17.28
RELEASE DATE 13th Nov 2020
Genres - Indie

Track Listing
1. Tonight
2. Beautiful Soul
3. Return
4. Something Real
5. Fix Me Up
6. Hey You
7. Miracle
8. Take Back The Radio
9. On The Road
10. Waiting For The Day

Katy J Pearson announces the release of her debut album, ‘Return’, out on Heavenly Recordings.

The 10-track album was produced and recorded by Ali Chant in his Bristol studio and features previous singles ‘Tonight’, ‘Hey You’ and the BBC 6 Music A-listed ‘Take Back The Radio’.

Katy has also today shared the video to the latest track to be taken from the album,. Talking about album track ‘Fix Me Up’ Katy said: “Quite an old song now, but it’s still very special to me! It’s very personal and is really about wanting independence in life after messy situations. In times of darkness feeling that pang of loneliness; anting someone else to be there to help you put all the pieces back together - which I’m sure is something we can all relate to.”

‘Return’ symbolises the re-entry of Pearson into music-making after a previous, collaborative project with her brother fell foul of the pressures of a major label record deal and over the course of twoand-a-half years, between her parents’ house in Gloucestershire, her Bristol bedroom and nearby community arts space The Island, Pearson honed her craft as a solo artist, learning to rely on her creative instincts and bringing forth an album just as shaped by the South-West of England as the rich musical history of America’s Southern States.

The songs were strengthened and evolved in a live setting - including in support of Olden Yolk and Cass McCombs on their respective UK and European tours - before being taken to the studio of producer Ali Chant (PJ Harvey, M. Ward, Perfume Genius, Gruff Rhys), where they were captured in their final form. The result is a jewel in the dirt by the side of the highway; ten songs which slide effortlessly between lovelorn country, lo-fi folk and glistening, unforgettable pop.

LP pressed on transparent red 140g vinyl in ‘flipback’ gloss laminated sleeve with poster. (A standard black vinyl format - HVNLP180 without poster will be available once the coloured vinyl edition has sold out.)

“A musician for the ages… crafting a catalogue full of classic” - Music Week

“A refreshing slice of gilded songwriting” - Clash

More From This Artist: Katy J Pearson

Shipping calculated at checkout.