1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

John Turrell - The Kingmaker [NEON YELLOW LP]

Jalapeno Records

  • £16.20

Catalogue No.: JAL252V
Barcode: 5050580778900
Release Date: 10 Sep 22
Genre: Funk

01: To The City - John Turrell
02: The Temper - John Turrell
03: Wrong Time - John Turrell
04: Low - John Turrell
05: The Kingmaker - John Turrell
06: These Things - John Turrell
07: Eating Stones - John Turrell
08: Chasing Shadows - John Turrell
09: Stella Maris - John Turrell
10: Won't Get Fooled Again - John Turrell
11: Home - John Turrell

LIMITED NEON YELLOW LP with gatefold insert and digital download card.

British soul royalty John Turrell's classic debut solo album 'The Kingmaker' is given a much-deserved release on a limited edition yellow vinyl LP. Delivering eleven stunning raw vocal performances on emotionally searing tracks, Turrell manages to span upbeat northern soul jaunts, downtempo bluesy groovers and emotive ballads in a cohesive collection that never ceases to treat the listener.

Created with writing partner and producer Nick Faber as a reflection and meditation on the ebb and flow of a normal man's life, authenticity and relatability are two key characteristics of the writing style on this record. While it is an album that references a diverse set of influences there is an unmistakable soul and blues sensibility that courses throughout the tracks. There are the same recognisable soaring vocals and heartfelt lyricism from the 'Smoove & Turrell' frontman that long term fans are used to (Smoove even lent a helping hand with engineering duties on the record) however this is undoubtedly a case of John running his own show.

More From This Artist: John Turrell

Shipping calculated at checkout.