New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

John Coltrane - Essential Works 1952 - 1962

Master of Jazz

  • £20.14 ( )

Format: 2LP
Catalogue No.: MOJ116
Barcode: 3760300312506
Release Date: 24th March 2021
Genre: Jazz

A1. In a Sentimental Modd
A2. Aisha
A3. Bittersweet
A4. My Little Brown Book
B1. Naima
B2. Slo Blues
B3. Theme for Ernie
B4. Slow Dance

C1. Olé
D1. Blue Train
D2. Milestones
D3. While My Lady Sleeps

LP FORMAT DETAILS: 2 x 140g Black Vinyl

John William Coltrane belongs to those rare musicians who transform the stylistic universe of their generation. Coltrane was a genius, and without his contribution, jazz in the Sixties wouldn’t have enjoyed its freedom. He transfigured not only melody, and harmony, but revolutionised the entire spirit of jazz. Like a painter seeking to reproduce the richness of his mind on a canvas of only two dimensions, Coltrane restituted a personal mental universe in his music and never duplicated forms and patterns already used. The microcosm of jazz in the Fifties didn’t find Coltrane convincing at first, but his relentless effort and visceral desire to convey his own truth catapulted him to the summits and made him the undisputed leader of modern jazz. Coltrane’s music is a personal message, so I sit down and listen.

Shipping calculated at checkout.