New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Jesper Munk - Taped Heart Sounds [LP]

Billbrook Records

  • £27.24

Format: LP
Catalogue No.: BBR001-LP
Barcode: 4251804127790
Release Date: 28 Jan 2022
Genre: Blues

1. Baby 00:04:32
2. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes 00:03:01
3. All the World is Green 00:04:58
4. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry 00:03:34
5. I'd Rather Go Blind 00:03:32
6. Amsterdam 00:05:12
1. Head In The Clouds 00:03:49
2. My Babe 00:02:30
3. Naked 00:03:58
4. Hang Me 00:04:15
5. When Did You Leave Heaven 00:02:58
6. End of the Line 00:01:41

Since Jesper Munk’s debut album in 2013 the German singer-songwriter has made a name for himself as multi-instrumentalist , “in the paths of Jack White and Dan Auerbach,” as the Rolling Stone Magazine puts it, playing music that ranges from Blues and Soul to heartfelt Pop and indulging Jazz, all this with a very unique, post-Punk edge. His new album Taped Heart Sounds offers an evolution of Munk’s sound: warm, gentle and soft vibes thatmgo deep. “If there is a way to give you a hug in form of an album, this is how I’d attempt to do so,” says Munk.

Recorded in an offbeat band room in Berlin with The Cassette Heads, the album brings together classics reaching from Blues to Rock’n Roll. Twelve songs of legendary artists who have influenced and inspired Munk since his early days, including Tom Waits, JJ Cale, Etta James, Hank Williams, Willie Dixon, Jacques Brel, and Mocky.

The entire album was recorded with a Tascam Portastudio 8-Track Cassette Recorder which brought an original and authentic sound to each song: “The technical limitations immediately liberated all other aspects of the recording,” Munk says. “It shows how much of making music is just listening and without a screen to catch your eye, you really have no choice but to do so.” All Songs face realness and live from these volatile moments that reveal vulnerability and musical generosity. The outcome of this analogue experiment is a very personal album, both inspiring and consoling.

Taped Heart Sounds courageously opens with Donnie & Joe Emerson’s Baby; a song so iconic that it actually cannot be enhanced. However, Munk’s interpretation stands out and has a presence that gives the song a life of its own – made for walking. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes, All the World Is Green, I'd Rather Go Blind, Head in the Clouds – what follows is a journey through Blues and Soul that is so vital and “now” that End of the Line may be the final track but certainly not the end of the story.

The album wouldn’t be what it is without collaboration and partnership. Munk’s special thanks go to his fans who helped to crowd-fund the recording. “On top of having had a real fun learning experience it all felt like a community project with real support from friends, the Cassette Heads, incredibly inspiring guests, and from Miles Deico, a wonderfully open and able engineer,” so Munk about the making of the album.

Taped Heart Sounds is Jesper Munk’s 4th album, following acclaimed debut album For in My Way it Lies (2013), CLAIM (2016), and Favourite Stranger (2018). Released via Billbrook Records, Hamburg-based Distributor Wordandsound’s new label, the album is available for pre-order now – for purchase on vinyl and CD. The first single ‘Baby’ is going to be released on November 19, 2021.

More From This Artist: Jesper Munk

Shipping calculated at checkout.