1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

JayWood - Slingshot [CD]

Captured Tracks

  • £11.70

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: CT348CD
Barcode: 0817949034825
Release Date: 15 Jul 2022
Genre: Indie/Alternative

Canadian songwriter and producer Jeremy Haywood-Smith needed an escape from his state of mourning when he began working on Sling-shot, his most recent LP as JayWood. After the loss of his mother in 2019, and a global standstill with multiple social crises throughout 2020, Haywood-Smith yearned for some forward momentum. “The idea of looking back to go forward became a really big thing for me—hence the title, Slingshot.”

Feeling disconnected from his past and ancestry after the death of a parent, Haywood-Smith made a conscious effort to better understand his identity and unique Black experience living in the predominantly white province of Manitoba. Merging fantasy scenarios, personal anecdotes, and infectious pop and dance instrumentals, Slingshot is a self-portrait of JayWood at his surface and his depths.

Musically, Slingshot reaches into sounds and styles Haywood-Smith has continued to explore throughout his catalog. “I think I made a really big deal to not pigeonhole myself,” he explains. “Whatever is inspiring me at one point will work it’s way into whatever I’m creating.”Slingshot is an amalgamation of Haywood-Smith’s many musical sensibilities, achieved with help from a crew of talented peers. Haywood-Smith wrote and performed a bulk of the track’s instrumentations, but the LP has notable appearances from Canadian contemporaries Ami Cheon (on “Just Say-in”) and Mckinley Dixon (on “Shine.”) The album’s penultimate track, “Thank You,” was co-produced with Jacob Portrait of Unknown Mortal Orchestra. The song brings JayWood’s sound full circle, offering something reminiscent of Haywood-Smith’s earliest recordings, while flaunting that “The best is yet to come.”

“What makes JayWood’s sound so distinctive is that infusion of outside influences [from] genres of funk and jazz, to his traditional indie
sound.” - KEXP

1. Intro (End of an Era)
2. God Is A Reptile
3. Pray, Move On
4. All Night Long
5. Just Sayin (feat. Ami Cheon)
6. Is It True (Dreams Pt. 3)
7. Kitchen Floor
8. Shine (feat. Mckinley Dixon)
9. Tulips
10. YGBO - Interlude
11. Thank You
12. Arrival (Outro)

More From This Artist: JayWood

Shipping calculated at checkout.