1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £27.52

Format: LP2
Catalogue No.: RIAZ001LP
Barcode: 5056032387416
Release Date: 06 Sep 2024
Genre: Jazz

For Pakistan's Jaubi, 'A Sound Heart' is the next chapter for the collective both sonically and spiritually, which follows on from their critically acclaimed debut album 'Nafs At Peace' (Top 10 Global albums in The Guardian), which also received praise from DownBeat and Pitchfork amongst others.

Global headline shows and festival live plot to be announced including Barbican Centre, Stockholm Jazz Festival to support album release. Full radio/press/print campaign in motion, picking up on continued support from Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, Gilles Peterson, Downbeat, The Guardian, Mr Scruff, Jazzwise, Mojo, Iggy Pop and many more 

World class players Nick Walters (trumpet), Horatio Luna (bass) and Tim Carnegie (drums) join Tenderlonious (flute/ sax) and Latarnik (keys) to support the core 3 members of Jaubi, who are true masters of their craft, coming from a rich lineage of accomplished musicians.
Kashif Ali Dhani is a classically trained tabla master from the Punjab gharana, and is the accompanist of choice on the local scene for some of Pakistan's great classical vocalists and instrumentalists, as well as in Europe and the USA. Zohaib Hassan Khan is a 7th generation sarangi master, who has performed globally, and is one of only 3 professional sarangi players left in Pakistan. Mult instrumentalist, composer and Jaubi bandleader Ali Riaz Baqar aka Ila Zair began his musical journey as a hip- hop enthusiast, evolving into a jazz guitarist following the exposure to the genre's rich sampling culture. He then became a disciple of the Senia-Shahjahanpur gharana, a lineage of musicians specialising in the sarod. His playing now focuses on merging North Indian classical music with modern jazz harmony on a traditional, unaltered 6-string electric guitar.
The collaborative relationship between the core group and wider collaborators dates back to April 2019, when 22a label founder and multi- instrumentalist Tenderlonious and EABS/ Bloto keyboard and synth maestro Marek 'Latarnik' Pedziwiatr travelled to Lahore, Pakistan to take part in some improvised recording sessions with Jaubi. Nothing whatsoever was written down during the recording sessions no sheet music, no song titles. It was sincere, bottled lightning. All egos were left behind, with hearts and souls being opened and poured into the music. The result has been described as spiritual jazz- fusion meets psychedelic Hindustani classical with nods to golden era hip hop.
An adventurous and absorbing record 'A Sound Heart' is the next chapter for Jaubi. The title is inspired from a verse in the Holy Qu'ran (26:89), where one comes to God with a spiritual or sound heart (Qalb) which is sincere, without doubts and free of materialistic attachments. Importantly it refers to a state where the heart is spiritually healthy and content with only God. A Sound Heart's basis is goodness, rooted in love. In this case, it is the love for one's creator. The album also acts as a tribute to fallen heroes, paying respect to the greatness that has come before, casting new light via cross- cultural collaboration and improvisation.
Throughout this incredible journey, meditative ragas blend with Herbie Hancockesque motifs, joined by lament-filled contemporary melodies intertwining with the intricate sounds of the sarangi and earthy layering of the tabla. A true masterpiece of composition from start to finish.

1. Lahori Blues (Blues for Shorter)
2. Chandrakauns
3. Wings Of Submission
4. Throw It Down
5. Raga Bairagi Todi
6. Mingusterstood (Blues for Mingus)
7. Soothing Mercy
8. A Sound Heart
9. Forgive Me
10. Reflections Of God

More From This Artist: JAUBI

Shipping calculated at checkout.