New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Ill Sugi - Warp Haze [CD]

Cold Busted

  • £17.98

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: CB197
Barcode: 0636339643979
Release Date: 23rd October 2020
Genre: Hip Hop

Cold Busted reaches out to the Tokyo massive and welcomes Ill Sugi to the label’s global roster. A Tokyo DJ since 2006, Ill Sugi has released beats on URBNET, Radio Juicy, and Jazzy Sport and collaborated with the likes of Bugseed and San Francisco’s Dregs One. Now Ill Sugi presents Warp Haze, a heady 17 track album for Cold Busted that displays the many chill boom-bap moods of this talented producer. The opening track — “Call Me Nasty” — sets the tone with a spring reverb-drenched drum track, electric piano chords, and echoed vocals dropping in and out. “Night Boat,” another highlight, is more upfront but still retaining the dreamy, laid back hip hop feel that this producer excels at. Sharp rhythmic sounds serve as accents, an eccentric touch that shows Ill Sugi’s unique take on this sound. Ill Sugi also embarks on a few notable collaborations: “Pretty Shadows” features Budamonk (formerly of Delicious Vinyl act BudaStyles), Brrwd artsy Yagi guests on the whimsical “Old Man,” and the closing “After The Rain” includes a contribution from IWYMI INTNl alumnus Tajima Hal. Throughout, the beats and cuts are evocative and innovative, comprised of unexpected textures and rare-sourced samples. Warp Haze will leave you clamoring for more.

TRACKLIST: 1. Call Me Nasty 2. Punk Smokers 3. Night Boat 4. Sylvia 5. Libra 6. Teenage Life Sounds 7. Lover (Ex) 8. Suburban 9. ILL Sugi & Budamunk - Pretty Shadows 10. Downtown Speaks 11. I Gatta Feeling 12. Angel Angera 13. Twin Cedar 14. ILL Sugi & Yagi - Old Man 15. Hayama 16. North Port 17. ILL Sugi & Tajima Hal - After The Rain

More From This Artist: Ill Sugi

Shipping calculated at checkout.