New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Emma-Jean Thackray - Yellow [Black Vinyl]


  • £24.48 ( )

Format: LP - Black Vinyl

Catalogue No.: MVMTT04LP

Barcode: 5060263723448

Release Date: 23rd July 2021

Genre: Jazz

The debut album by Emma-Jean Thackray feels exactly like the sort of thing we’ve been longing for over the last 12 months: a transcendent, human, shared experience. Across its 49 minutes, Yellow draws glowing lines between ‘70s jazz fusion and P-Funk, the cosmic invocations of Sun Ra and Alice Coltrane, and the gorgeous orchestration of the Beach Boys.

“I wanted the whole thing to sound like a psychedelic trip,” explains Thackray. “You put on the first track, it takes you through this intense experience for almost an hour, and then you emerge on the other side transformed.” The result is an album that speaks the language of positivity, as rich lyrically as it is musically. You might best understand what Thackray does through reference to auteur figures like Brian Wilson or Madlib, who straddle instrumentation, arrangement and production in order to bring the sound in their head to fruition.

As a composer, producer, singer, multi-instrumentalist and DJ, Emma is just as at home working with the London Symphony Orchestra as she is hosting her show on Worldwide FM. Production credits and collaborations include the likes of Squid, Makaya McCraven, BLU and Pinty.

A1 - Mercury
A2 - Say Something
A3 - About That
B1 - Venus
B2 - Green Funk
B3 - Third Eye
B4 - May There Be Peace
C1 - Sun
C2 - Golden Green
C3 - Spectre
D1 - Rahu & Ketu
D2 - Yellow
D3 - Our People
D4 - Mercury (In Retrograde)

Shipping calculated at checkout.