New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

El Michels Affair - Enter the 37th Chamber (Gold Vinyl)

Fat Beats Records

  • £22.32 ( )


Format: LP

Catalogue No.: FB5127GLD

Release Date: 30th May 2021 (back in)

Genre: Hip Hop/ Soul/ Funk

Very limited stock. The world moves faster than ever these days, and even in the digital age, things can always be counted on to go in cycles. Despite all of the advances in computer recording technology, home studios, and electronic instruments, there is a flourishinginterest in analog recording techniques and in recreating the mood and sound of vintage soul records. With one foot in the past but their eyes firmly set on the future, El Michels Affair are among the leaders of a resurgent funk & soul movement from New York City that's sweeping both the music community and the charts. Led by saxophonist/organist Leon Michels and producer/engineer Jeff Silverman, El Michels Affair began as a loose collaboration of session musicians (including members of top-selling acts Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings, the Budos Band, and Antibalas) that looked to blend some of the vibrant quality of soundtrack records with the recording aesthetic of early reggae, and the rawness of 60's rock--they called it 'Cinematic Soul.' This delicate balance was evident on their 2005 debut album Sounding Out the City, which earned critical acclaim and acted as the inaugural full-length release for Michels and Silverman's burgeoning label Truth & Soul (also the moniker for the duo as a production team). The buzz generated from the album and a series of moderately successful 7" vinyl singles from Truth & Soul led to an invitation by Toyota's Scion division for El Michels Affair to accompany the rapper Raekwon of Wu-Tang Clan for a promotional concert.

TRACKLIST: A1. Duel Of The Iron Mics (3:10) A2. C.R.E.A.M. (2:55) A3. Mystery Of Chessboxin' (1:45) A4. Can It All Be So Simple (3:15) A5. Uzi (Pinky Ring) (3:10) A6. Interlude (0:35) A7. Glaciers Of Ice (3:30) B1. Cherchez La Ghost (3:45) B2. Criminology (1:35) B3. Heaven & Hell (2:10) B4. Bring Da Ruckus (3:10) B5. Protect Ya Neck (3:35) B6. Incarcerated Scarfaces (1:20) B7. Shimmy Shimmy Ya (2:25) B8. Outro (0:30)

Shipping calculated at checkout.