New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Eero Koivistoinen - Picture In Three Colours

Svart Records

  • £23.38

Format: 2 x 12" Vinyl
Catalogue No.: SRE527LP
Barcode: 6430077094697
Release Date: 10 Dec 2021
Genre: Contemporary Jazz

2LP, black vinyl, 5 bonus tracks, gatefold sleeve. Liner notes by Eero Koivistoinen & Ron McClure For a long time already, I had been dreaming of a recording session in New York. The dream came true on the 14th and 15th of November, 1983. I had been thinking of a classic line-up: trumpet and tenor saxophone + guitar, piano, bass, and drums. My good old friend, the bassist Ron McClure, promised his help with contacting the musicians. For the drums we got Jack De Johnette, who played together with Ron in the famous Charles Lloyd Quartet. John Scofield, my fellow student in Berklee College of Music, was going to play guitar. Sco had just been called for the band of Miles Davis. Jim McNeely, the pianist, was familiar to me from Pori Jazz Festival where he had played with Ted Curson. Jim was a member of the Stan Getz Quartet at the time. The brilliant Tom Harrel was to play trumpet. We got all the musicians we had wished for: we had gathered a real dream team! We rehearsed for the recording in McClure´s living room in West 87th Street. Vanguard Studios in 23rd Street was where the recording took place. Jack´s energy and creativity forced us others to be alert to keep track in his wild whirlpools. David Baker, the recording engineer, was active in a good way and gave us some reasonable hints. Playing together with these masters in the studio was one of the greatest experiences in my career up to then. I had written new pieces for the recording and a few older ones were included, too. Second Thought was a new version of my composition called Near But Faraway. All the music we recorded could not be put on one LP record. Arctic Blues, Algo Fresco and Sunburst were left out. I had just established my own label, Pro Records. Picture in Three Colours was the very first record of the label.

1. Linewriting
2. Patana
3. Long Way From Home
4. Picture In Three Colours
5. Kindergarten
6. Second Thought
7. Sunburst - Bonus Track
8. Arctic Blues - Bonus Track
9. Algo Fresco - Bonus Track
10. Patana - Bonus Track
11. Second Thought - Bonus Track

More From This Artist: Eero Koivistoinen

Shipping calculated at checkout.