New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Ed Askew – 2020

Improved Sequence

  • £21.58 ( )

Format: LP
Catalogue No.: IMP006
Barcode: 8016670149064
Release Date: 2nd July 2021
Genre: Folk/Americana

Ed Askew has been in NYC for 30 years. A few years ago he moved from Washington Heights in Manhattan to Ridgewood in Queens. And starting next month, he will be in Bedford Stuyvesant in Brooklyn. During all this time, Ed developed a home recording method which is very nuanced and at the same time concise. Ed’s harpsichord, tiple, synth and a muscular use of Pro Tools all play a role. His lyrics are on a whole new level; and his voice is his own. 2020 Seven Songs is his most recent home recording and the first one made this year. “Starting in January, “coffee in the afternoon, chocolate cake and copper pennies” -- the album begins by looking forward to less difficult times, warm weather and days at the beach. 2020 is an experimental piece that talks about young bands and continues an optimistic thread. Make a Wish evokes a certain reconciliation with lost love. You’ve experienced this. We are in February. In March, I am holed up in my apartment. I make another song; watch TV and contemplate the passing time, romance, and make some small paintings. 144 is a short piano piece, I play it on my classic Alesis synth. The beginning of March brings to mind San Francisco memories as I watch quarantined musicians play from home. It seems that I am “waiting for the end of time” at the end of March. I’m working on songs and painting a bit. I remember 1967 and the time I spent in Harlem after I moved to New York as I hear late night ambulances on my street.” Ed Askew, NYC, 2020

Track list: 1. Copper Pennies 2. 2020 3. Make A Wish 4. A Stone In The Road 5. 144 6. Ricochet 7. Chartreuse

Shipping calculated at checkout.