New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £260.10

Format: 107 x CD
Catalogue No.: 94862073
Barcode: 0028948620739
Release Date: 28 Oct 2022
Genre: Classical

'• From Adam to Zemlinsky: Dietrich-Fischer Dieskau's entire lieder recordings on DG, Philips and Decca together for the first time on 107 CDs
• Over 50 years of recording history from 1949 (Brahms: "Vier ernste Gesänge") to 2003 (Melodramas) allow the development of his epochal voice to be traced over his long career
• Included are the near-complete lied oeuvre of Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Wolf, Liszt and Strauss for male voice
• In addition to the classic piano and orchestral songs, marginal repertoire is also included, such as duets and quartets by Brahms, Schubert ensembles, Shostakovich's 14th Symphony, Zemlinsky's Lyric Symphony, Rudi Stephan's "Liebeszauber" and numerous melodramas
• Three discs present illuminating insights about Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau‘s life and work in an audio documentary "From my Life" (1961) and in an extensive recorded interview from 2005
• Repertoire highlights include:
o Four different recordings of "Die Winterreise" (Demus 1965, Moore 1971, Barenboim 1979, Brendel 1985) make for a fascinating comparison.
o Brahms' Magelone-Lieder officially released for the first time on DG with the spoken interludes read by Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau himself.
o Many recordings beyond the mainstream repertoire such as "Krämerspiegel" by Richard Strauss, an early recording of songs by Hans Pfitzner, contemporary composers such as Hans Werner Henze, Frank Martin ("Jedermann-Monologe"), Witold Lutosławski or Othmar Schoeck ("Lebendig begraben")
o Previously hard-to-find recordings such as Beethoven's Folksong Arrangements together with Edith Mathis, Julia Hamari and Alexander Young
• 200pp booklet with a detailed essay by Dr. Michael Wersin and numerous photos and documents, some of them unpublished, from the archives of Deutsche Grammophon, the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin and private collections


Shipping calculated at checkout.