New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Daniel Avery - Ultra Truth [Audio Cassette]

Phantasy Sound / [PIAS]

  • £13.77

Format: MC
Catalogue No.: PHLP19MC
Barcode: 5400863080501
Release Date: 04 Nov 2022
Genre: Techno

 Revered producer and composer Daniel Avery announces his most ambitious and accomplished studio album to date, ‘Ultra Truth’, via Phantasy Sound.
 ‘Ultra Truth’ offers a very different listening experience to any of Avery’s previous records. It inhabits its own world of sound, a construct built in Avery’s Thames side studio with collaborative help from a host of friends: the production touch of Ghost Culture and Manni Dee, the vocals of HAAi, Jonnine Standish (HTRK), AK Paul and the voices of Marie Davidson, Kelly Lee Owens, Sherelle and James Massiah.
 “‘Ultra Truth’ finds me in a different place to where I’ve been before. My previous albums have all focused on the idea of music being an escape or a distraction from the world but that’s not the case this time. For me this album is about looking directly into the darkness, not running away from it. There’s a way through these times but it involves keeping the important people in your life close to you and navigating the noise together. This is an intentionally heavy and dense album, the hooks often hidden in dusty corners. I’m no longer dealing in a misty-eyed euphoria. ‘Ultra Truth’ is a distorted fever dream of a record: riled, determined and alive.”
 In creating ‘Ultra Truth’, Avery went back to many of the things that had inspired him to first make music as a teenager - pensive, emotive records by Deftones, Portishead, Nick Cave or Mogwai, the exquisite darkness of David Lynch’s movies and - on tracks like ‘Devotion’ and ‘Higher’ - the thunderous energy of leftfield rave music.
 “I’m working with an entirely new world of sound on this record. Every single influence from the last decade spent on the road plays a part. Things that have been in the back of my mind forever, warped, distorted and pushed to a new place.”
 Elsewhere, a counterpoint to ‘Ultra Truth’’s juggernaut breakbeats comes in the form of Avery’s elegiac tribute to the late Andrew Weatherall. ‘Lone Swordsman’ feels like it’s been created from the same DNA as some of Weatherall’s most sublime moments.
 “Andrew was an enormously important figure in my life. It’s been said about him so many times, but Andrew was someone who did things entirely on his own terms, an outsider through and through. He was a punk rocker as much as he was a techno DJ. I've always held on to what he taught me which was to offer a true expression of who you are at all times. That’s the ultimate goal. If this record sounds like it comes from a more shadowy place, that’s what it is and that’s who I am.”
 ‘Ultra Truth’ is just that. It’s the ultimate musical truth of one of the country’s most innovative, boundary-pushing electronic producers. And the truth is, this is a record to give you a burning sense of hope.
 ‘Ultra Truth’ is available on CD, gatefold white vinyl (which will revert to a black vinyl format - PHLP19 - once sold out), and transparent blue cassette, with each induvial format including an exclusive bonus track.

‘Ultra Truth’
New Faith - Daniel Avery
Ultra Truth - Daniel Avery
Wall Of Sleep - Daniel Avery & HAAi
The Slow Bullet - Daniel Avery
Devotion - Daniel Avery
Only - Daniel Avery & Jonnine
Spider - Daniel Avery
Near Perfect - Daniel Avery & SHERELLE
Higher - Daniel Avery
Ache - Daniel Avery & AK Paul
Collapsing Sky - Daniel Avery
Lone Swordsman - Daniel Avery
Overflowing With Escape - Daniel Avery
Chaos Energy - Daniel Avery & Kelly Lee Owens & HAAi 
Heavy Rain - Daniel Avery & James Massiah

Bonus Tracks (Format Specific)
Out of Silence (CD)
Trip (2LP)
Time Takes a While (MC)

More From This Artist: Daniel Avery

Shipping calculated at checkout.