New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Communions - Pure Fabrication [CD]


  • £11.41 ( )

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: TAMB291CD 
Barcode: 7332181105391 
Release Date: 23rd April 2021
Genre: Indie/Alternative

1. Bird Of Passage
2. Humdrum
3. Cupid
4. My Little Planet
5. Learn To Pray
6. Signs Of Life
7. Splendour
8. History (The Siren Song)
9. Blunder In The Street
10. Is This How Love Should Feel?
11. Hymn
12. Androgyny
13. Here And Now
14. Celebration
15. The Gift Of Music

LP FORMAT DETAILS: (2XLP Gatefold sleeve, dl code )

Few Danish bands have been so far around the block at such a young age as Communions.

In 2014, while still in highschool and still shaking dust from the rafters of Mayhem — Copenhagen’s famed underground venue — Communions released their debut EP Cobblestones. The release marked the beginning of a long and productive streak for the band, who followed it up with the 2015 Communions EP, the 2017 album Blue, a string of self-released singles and an EP, Flesh and Gore, Dream and Vapor, in 2019. Now Communions have joined Tambourhinoceros with a new, reshaped constellation.

Communions’ Rehof brothers — Martin (vocals and guitar) and Mads (Bass) — have decided to continue at the helm of the band after the departure of their long-time bandmates Jacob van Deurs Formann and Frederik Lind Köppen (although the two still feature in the forthcoming Communions recordings). Letting their brotherly musical connection take center stage, the Rehof brothers have assembled a new five piece constellation around themselves going forwards, adding even more depth to their indie rock.

Communions’s early work drew inspiration from the underground scene’s punk cynicism, evidenced by their lofi debut EP which was recorded — with amps blaring — straight onto a USB microphone. Communions’ next two EPs and debut album saw the band refine their craft of songwriting and production while riding a wave of international attention and festival performances. Their forthcoming music now represents another shift in the Communions aesthetic. Marked by sharp cultural criticism, self reflection, and artistic commentary of a grand scale, Communions’ new music takes the signature indie rock from the dark clubs of their youth and merges it with full-fleshed cerebral critique and symbolism.

“Copenhagen’s Communions are inextricably tangled up with the Danish scene that spawned bands like Iceage, Lower, Vår, and Lust For Youth ... But Communions do not sound anything like any of those bands. For my money, they are so much better!" Stereogum

“Denmark, and more specifically, Copenhagen, may be forever associated with noise and thrash-punk, but the Scandinavian city is so much more than doom and gloom. Communions remind us that there’s more, and of the optimistic quality of a great pop song” The A.V. Club

“Communions' earnest spirit has so many streaks of sun cracking through that it feels almost surreal...” Pitchfork

OTHER ACTIVITY: https://tambourhinoceros.net

Shipping calculated at checkout.