New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Claiana - Claiana Vol. 1 [CD]

Favela Discos

  • £8.64

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: FD041
Barcode: 0725765590565
Release Date: 16 Dec 2022
Genre: Funaná/Zouk/Disco

CD – Gatefold cover w/ Artwork Poster - Sealed plastic sleeve

Claiana is Gui “Lee” Conceição. He was born in Tarrafal de São Nicolau, Cape Verde, in 1973. He grew up with a guitar in his arms, among family, parents and cousins, mornas and coladeras.

Soon he started singing, even without understanding the lyrics, he would articulate a melody through a weird gibberish that his father named “Claiana”. Artists like Patrick Saint-Éloi (Kassav’) and Michael Jackson came up in his life, wrapped him with strange singing techniques, and ended up being a huge influence on him.

Today he can sign any song in “Claiana”. In 2000, he emigrated to the Azores islands, and then to the Netherlands, where he worked in a studio and recorded an album in Crioulo. The record, called “Pesadelo” (Nightmare) became what the name announced, the master tapes were lost and Gui returns to Portugal. This time he settled in Porto, where his brother was studying painting. For many years he reflected.

Then, based on Bruce Lee’s philosophy, he creates Claiana and, with the help of Luís Figueiredo, records the songs that are now part of Claiana Vol. 1. Since 2009 Claiana has set foot on stages all across Portugal, having become an unavoidable figure in Porto’s night scene. The CD release of Vol. 1 is the culmination of these recordings of the songs that set so many stages on fire.

1. Bizness
2. Avionçon
3. Bizu
4. Cherri
5. Zébel
6. Bonsoir
7. Damn
8. Pérola
9. Vazila
10. Manif
11. Super

More From This Artist: Claiana

Shipping calculated at checkout.