1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind


London Records

  • £10.50

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: LMS5521738
Barcode: 5060555217389
Release Date: 30 Sep 2022
Genre: Pop

* Blancmange return with their 16th studio album ‘Private View’
* The band returns to London Records some 40 years later after their first album ‘Happy Families’ (1982)
* Album features vocalist Neil Arthur with producer, keyboardist and programmer Ben Edwards (John Grant, Stephen Mallinder, John Foxx) and guitarist David Rhodes (Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel, Scott Walker)
* With 7 Top 40 UK hits and 70 weeks in the UK Official Charts, Blancmange’s influence on the global electronic and pop music scenes cannot be understated

Private View is distinctly Blancmange while also expanding into new sonic terrain. There’s a deft marriage of futuristic electronic sounds, Neil Arthur’s unmistakable vocal hooks, and songs veer from buoyant and joyful to dark and brooding. Private View will be released on London Records almost exactly 40 years to the day since the label released Blancmange’s debut album Happy Families. This neat full circle of Blancmange re-signing to the same label that ignited things all those years ago is also reflected in the album itself, being the perfect crystallisation of four decades of creativity.

On Private View Neil returns with key collaborator Benge (Wrangler, John Foxx, John Grant), and David Rhodes (Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel, Scott Walker) also returns as the guitarist, having previously performed with the band as early as 1982’s Happy Families (as well as several other Blancmange albums). 

Private View is a record that manages to capture an artist who is potently in the moment when it comes to creating new work, while also being able to draw on 40 years’ worth of knowledge, experience, and built-in intuition. “I'm really lucky to be able make the music completely on my own terms,” Arthur says. “Being able to just continue being creative...that's when I'm happiest.” As he said before: “within myself there are no limits.”

Blancmange is also reflected in the ongoing influence the music has on younger generations of artists and fans over the years. Contemporary electronic producers like Honey Dijon and Roman Flügel have paid tribute with remixes, Moby once called Blancmange “probably the most underrated electronic act of all time.”; while John Grant continues to profess his love for Arthur’s music, old and new, and has invited Blancmange to perform as part of Grace Jones’ Meltdown festival.

1. What’s Your Name
2. Some Times These
3. Reduced Voltage
4. Here We Go Go
5. Chairs
6. Who Am I
7. Everything is Connected
8. I Tried To Be You
9. Private View
10. Take Me

More From This Artist: BLANCMANGE

Shipping calculated at checkout.