New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Biosphere - Dropsonde

Biophon Records

  • £28.80
RELEASE DATE 5th Jun 2020
Genres - Electronica/Dance

Track Listing
1. Dissolving Clouds
2. Birds Fly by Flapping Their Wings
3. Warmed by the Drift
4. In Triple Time
5. From a Solid to a Liquid
6. Arafura
7. Fall in Fall Out
8. Daphnis 26
9. Altostratus
10. Sherbrooke
11. People Are Friends
12. In the Shape of a Flute
13. Fair Winds for Escort
14. Windscale Piles
15. Insolate
16. La Caldera
17. Birds Fly by Flapping Their Wings (v2)
18. Warmed by the Drift (v2)
19. Lost Horizon

"Dropsonde was originally released by Touch (UK) in 2006. This is a reissue with seven previously unreleased recordings.

Widely regarded as one of Norwegian electronic music's most important artists, Biosphere's [Geir Jenssen] career spans nearly two decades, several albums, lots of remixes, various sound installations, commissions, soundtracks and even the odd Himalayan summit.

You may recognise his work without knowing it, so frequently does it crop up on TV trailers and idents. In the early 1990s he was a pioneer of so-called 'Ambient Techno', but since then, he has refined his sound into something more magnetic and enduring.

Dropsonde' isn't a soundtrack like the interwoven 'Substrata' nor an episodic journey in the way that 'Autour de la Lune' is. Here Geir Jenssen is pushing new directions towards the jazz colours of Miles Davis and Jon Hassell, whilst re-invigorating the pulse and projection of his signature sound: a hypnotic combination of pleasure and dread.

More From This Artist: Biosphere

Shipping calculated at checkout.