New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Billie Marten - Flora Fauna [Standard Vinyl]


  • £19.13 ( )

Catalogue No.: BMFFLP
Barcode: 0602435233703
Release Date: 21st May 2021
Genre: Folk/Americana

Side A
1. Garden Of Eden
2. Creature Of Mine
3. Human Replacement
4. Liquid Love
5. Heaven
Side B
1. Ruin
2. Pigeon
3. Kill The Clown
4. Walnut
5. Aquarium

Flora Fauna is the forthcoming third album from Billie Marten.

Raised in the rolling hills of North Yorkshire on artists such as Nick Drake, Joni Mitchell, Joan Armatrading, and Kate Bush, Marten’s critically acclaimed debut album Writing of Blues and Yellows, was released in 2016 when she was still just 17, while its follow-up Feeding Seahorses By Hand was similarly lauded in 2019 (# 53 in UK album chart).

Flora Fauna, was recorded with Rich Cooper in London. Marten’s new material blends those signature hushed, resonant vocals with a rapid pulse and rich instrumentation, her inspirations now stretching from krautrockers Can, to Broadcast, Arthur Russell, and Fiona Apple.

Built on the minimalist acoustic folk foundations she made a name for herself with, Flora Fauna is a more mature, embodied album fostered around a strong backbone of bass and rhythm. Shedding the timidity of previous work in favour of a more urgent sound, the songs mark a period of personal independence for Marten as she learned to nurture herself and break free from toxic relationships - and a big part of that was returning to nature.

“I wasn’t really treating myself very well, it was a bit of a disruptive time. All these songs are about getting myself out of that hole - they’re quite strong affirmations. The name Flora Fauna is like a green bath for my eyes. If the album was a painting, it would look like flora and fauna - it encompasses every organism, every corner of Earth, and a feeling of total abundance.”

Written by Billie Marten and Rich Cooper
Published by BMG Music Publishing and Copyright Control
Except ‘Pigeon’, ‘Walnut’ and ‘Aquarium’, written by Billie Marten
Published by BMG Music Publishing

Produced by Rich Cooper for 17Days Music
Engineered by Rich Cooper and Neil Goody
Mixed by Matt Wiggins
Mastered by Matt Colton
Recorded at The Premises Studios, London
Features vocals by Guy Garvey (Elbow) on ‘Walnut’

Shipping calculated at checkout.