1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Bill Frisell - Orchestras [2LP]

Decca (UMO) / Jazz / Blue Note

  • £36.63

Format: 2 x LP
Catalogue No.: 5883740
Barcode: 0602458837407
Release Date: 19 Apr 2024
Genre: Jazz 

Bill Frisell’s expansive double album Orchestras documents two inspired concert-hall engagements arranged by Michael Gibbs for the guitarist’s trio with bassist Thomas Morgan and drummer Rudy Royston: one featuring the nearly 60-piece Brussels Philharmonic, conducted by Alexander Hanson; and one with the 11-piece Umbria Jazz Orchestra, under the musical direction of Manuele Morbidini. Sweeping orchestration evoking landmark film scores and Gil Evans alike move nimbly within and around the trio’s telepathic rapport, and Frisell’s shimmering trademark tone melds gorgeously with symphonic strings and brass.

Disc 1. With The Brussels Philharmonic
1. Nocturne Vulgaire
2. Lush Life
3. Doom
4. Rag
5. Throughout
6. Electricity
7. Sweet Rain
8. Richter 858, No.7
9. Beautiful Dreamer

Disc 2. With Umbria Jazz Orchestra
1. Lookout for Hope
2. Levees
3. Strange Meeting
4. Doom
5. Electrcity
6. Monica Jane
7. We Shall Overcome

More From This Artist: Bill Frisell

Shipping calculated at checkout.