New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Berliner Philharmoniker, Sir Simon Rattle, Leonidas Kavakos - EUROPAKONZERT 2015 [DVD]


  • £16.20 ( )

Format: 1 DVD9
ICPN: 0880242608994
Release Date: 23rd April 2021
Genre: Classical

Packaging: 1 Polybox
DVD Picture: 16:9 – NTSC
DVD Sound: PCM Stereo, DD 5.0, DTS 5.0
Subtitles: -
Region code: 0 (worldwide)
Running time: 90 mins
Production Year: 2019
Marketing tools: cover, back cover, trailer

The founding of the Berliner Philharmoniker on May 1st, 1882, is celebrated annually in an European city of cultural significance. In 2015 the EUROPAKONZERT took place in Athens’ great concert hall, the Megaron, with Leonidas Kavakos joining the Berliner Philharmoniker. The Greek violinist celebrated a home triumph with his interpretations of Sibelius’ Violin Concerto and Bach’s “Largo” from Sonata No. 3.

• The Europakonzert in Greece brought the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle to the country the name “Europe” comes from, the cradle of democracy. The program guided the audience on a musical journey through Europe with works by Rossini, Schumann and Sibelius.

• The violinist and conductor Leonidas Kavakos was born in Athens in 1967. He began his musical career at the Greek Conservatory of Music in Athens under Stelios Kafantaris. He was granted permission to play the famous Guarnieri del Gesu "Il Cannone" violin, an instrument that once belonged to Niccolò Paganini. Kavakos is an internationally sought-after soloist and chamber music performer, and directs his own music festival at the Megaron in Athens.
• Redesign/repackagin of the successful DVD & Blu-ray.

Berliner Philharmoniker ∙ Sir Simon Rattle conductor ∙ Leonidas Kavakos violin

Johann Sebastian Bach: “Largo” from Sonata No.3 in C major, BWV 1005
Gioacchino Rossini: “Semiramide” Overture
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 97 “Rhenish”
Jean Sibelius: Violin Concerto D minor, Op. 47

Shipping calculated at checkout.