New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Bee Gees - Main Course


  • £10.78 ( )
RELEASE DATE 26th Jun 2020
Genres - Pop

Track Listing
1. Nights on Broadway
2. Jive Talkin
3. Wind of Change
4. Songbird
5. Fanny (Be Tender with My Love)
6. All This Making Love
7. Country Lanes
8. Come on Over
9. Edge of the Universe
10. Baby As You Turn Away

A must-have for any Bee Gees fan, Main Course is a perfect slice of 70s pop and R&B. The album was recorded in Miami, Florida, a suggestion made to the group by Eric Clapton. Its number one hit, “Jive Talkin,” was originally called “Drive Talking,” has a rhythm inspired by the sound their car made on the 163rd St Causeway Bridge as they drove to and from Criteria Studio. With Main Course, producer Arif Mardin and the Gibb brothers continued to expound upon themes first explored in Mr. Natural—the use of synthesizers as opposed to sweeping strings, and smooth pop numbers. This is also the first album where Barry Gibb’s hallmark falsetto is prominent, showcasing the impressive depth of the his vocal range.

The album made it to no. 14 on the U.S. Billboard charts, while singles “Jive Talkin”, “Nights on Broadway,” and “Fanny (Be Tender with My Love)” reached no. 1, 7, and 12, respectively. The rest of the album is a delight, as well. The Bee Gees revisit their ballad roots on the tender “Country Lanes” and “Baby as You Turn Away,” and psychedelia with the synth-heavy “Edge of the Universe.” “All This Making Love” is an infectious number that marches along with fuzzy guitar, while “Come on Over” is the album’s sunny country dalliance.
Shipping calculated at checkout.