1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Barry Brown - Praises [2LP]

Pressure Sounds

  • £26.08

Format: 2LP
Catalogue No.: PSLP109
Barcode: 0754590144865
Release Date: 22 Oct 2021
Genre: Reggae

1. Step It Up Youthman extended - Barry Brown
2. Natty Rootsman part 1 - Barry Brown
3. Natty Rootsman part 2 - The Aggrovators
4. Fittest Of The Fittest part 1 - Barry Brown
5. Fittest Of The Fittest part 2 - The Aggrovators
6. We Can’t Dub Like This - The Aggrovators
7. Longer (intro)
8. Look How Long vocal - Barry Brown
9. Look How Long Dub - The Aggrovators
10. Longer (outro)
11. From Creation vocal - Barry Brown
12. Creative Vibes (xylophone) - Diggory Kenrick
13. From Creation part 3 - The Aggrovators
14. Give Thanks And Praise vocal - Barry Brown
15. Give Thanks And Praise (Lion Mix) - Barry Brown
16. Give Thanks part 3 - The Aggrovators
17. Creative Dub* - The Aggrovators
18. Natty Roots Controller* - Barry Brown

* CD bonus track produced by Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee

Barry Brown had originally started out as a DJ called Jah Smile, but he had also been part of a group with Rod Taylor and Johnny Lee who recorded as ‘The Aliens’ that pre-dated his solo work. His breakthrough came as a singer for producer Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee in the mid to late 70s with a raw style of semi-improvised singing that was lapped up by the roots crowd. By the late 80s Brown’s popularity had started to fall, and at the time of his death in 2004 he had pretty much fallen on hard times. However, in the last 20 years his material has really taken on a new lease of life, as his roots songs in particular have become more and more popular.

The set of Barry Brown songs that make up ‘Praises’ were mixed by Paolo Baldini during the 2020 lockdown at his Alambic studio in Italy. The original production was done in Jamaica by Bunny Lee and we are proud to say we have kept as much of the original recordings intact as was possible. The original drums played by Santa Davis are all still as impressive as ever and we hope we have managed to add something new, as well as staying faithful to the original production.

Recorded at: Channel One Studio, Dynamic Sounds Studio, Harry J Studio, King Tubby’s Studio
Backed by The Aggrovators
Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis, Lowell ‘Sly’ Dunbar
Bass: Robbie Shakespeare,
George ‘Fully’ Fullwood
Guitar: Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith, Tony Chin, Radcliffe ‘Dougie’ Bryan,
Bertram ‘Ranchie’ McLean
Keyboards: Winston Wright, Robbie Lyn, Ossie Hibbert, Tony Asher
Horns: Tommy McCook, Lennox Brown
Percussion: Noel ‘Scully’ Simms
Xylophone: Diggory Kenrick

Photography: Beth Lesser

More From This Artist: Barry Brown

Shipping calculated at checkout.