1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Art Blakey - Jazz Messengers with Thelonious Monk [2LP 180g Black vinyl]

Rhino Atlantic

  • £45

Format: 2 x LP
ICPN: 0603497842391
Release Date: 20 May 2022
Genre: Jazz

Atlantic. The Jazz Messengers were a loose collective of young Jazz musicians, with a constantly rotating lineup to keep the music fresh, and help launch new careers (akin to today’s hip hop collectives.)

Blakey had recorded with Monk on various occasions, but this was the first time Monk sat in with the Jazz Messengers. The result is a true meeting of the minds, a beautiful union of Monk’s melodies with Blakey’s unshakable sense of swing, and Thelonious Monk’s only appearance on Atlantic. This 65thanniversary deluxe edition includes an extra disc of previously unreleased outtakes, celebrating the most sensational jazz collaboration of the 1950s.

Art Blakey, drums; Thelonious Monk, piano; Johnny Griffin, tenor saxophone; Bill Hardman, trumpet; and Spanky Debrest, bass.

Disc 1 (Original Album)
Side 1:
1. Evidence
2. In Walked Bud
3. Blue Monk
Side 2:
1. I Mean You
2. Rhythm-A-Ning
3. Purple Shades

Disc 2 (Outtakes)
Side 1:
1. Evidence Take 2 (6:19)
2. In Walked Bud Take 2 (6:30)
3. Blue Monk Take 9 (7:10)
Side 2:
1. I Mean You Take 3 (7:40)
2. Rhythm-A-Ning Take 2 (7:35)
3. Purple Shades Take 4 (7:06)

More From This Artist: Art Blakey

Shipping calculated at checkout.