New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Ann Eysermans - For Trainspotters Only


  • £25.99

Format: LP
Catalogue No.: CORTIZONA013
Barcode: 5414165128762
Release Date: 04 Feb 2022
Genre: Experimental/Ambient/Field Recordings/Musique Concrete

Limited LP including two inserts.

On her debut album Belgian-based multi-instrumentalist Ann Eysermans explores the possibilities of the train as a music instrument: a deep quest into a fascinating and mesmerising world, which started as a five year old kid, when she climbed on board of the train helm station during a trip from Antwerp to Ostend.

For the compositions 'Prelude and Fuga For Four Diesel Locomotives And Harp' Eysermans had the chance to capture the sounds of diesel locomotives (HD 51, 54, 55 and 60) of the Belgian Train World Heritage collection. Microscopic hissing vibrations of steaming engines slowly entwine and resonate with fragile harp playing, getting on track for an unconventional sonic rail journey. A melancholic odyssey of sound in motion: Ann Eysermans let the sparkling harp notes dissolve into the tones of pulsating train wheels.

On the B-side she bends her soft singing voice around deranged horn melodies in 'Le Départ', connect delayed organ harmonies in 'De Vertraging' with the dying frequencies of a trembling and humming locomotive from the 60's, On the key track 'For Trainspotters Only' Ann Eysermans assembles a hauntingly piece of musique concrete with clanging chimes, broken music boxes, ghostly whispers and throbbing machine room sounds. A lonely barking dog and the last train announcement on a desolate platform in 'Chorale' also mark the last part of this spellbinding record.

On 'For Trainspotters Only' Ann Eysermans takes you on an immersive and meandering ride, connecting the dots between the free spirit of Alice Coltrane, the orchestrated field recording compositions of Chris Watson and the magic realism of Claire Rousay.

For Trainspotters Only by Ann Eysermans is a co-production between Cortizona, ChampdAction and EUROPALIA, in collaboration with NMBS.

A1. Ann Eysermans - Prelude For Four Diesel Locomotives And Harp
A2. Ann Eysermans - Fuga For Four Diesel Locomotives And Harp
B1. Ann Eysermans - Le Départ
B2. Ann Eysermans - De Vertraging
B3. Ann Eysermans - Little One
B4. Ann Eysermans - For Trainspotters Only
B5. Ann Eysermans - Snowing
B6. Ann Eysermans – Chorale

More From This Artist: Ann Eysermans

Shipping calculated at checkout.