New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Aki Rissanen - Divided Horizon

Edition Records

  • £14.38

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: EDN1177
Barcode: 5060509791330
Release Date: 03 Sep 2021
Genre: Contemporary Jazz

Aki Rissanen is a pianist of formidable talent and one of the most praised and highly regarded jazz musicians to emerge from the super-creative and original Finnish Jazz scene. As a leader he has released three albums with his long standing trio: Amorandom (2016), Another Land (2017) and Another North (2019). With Divided Horizon, he’s chosen a more sophisticated and solitary path, focussing on solo piano and a unique instrument, the Omniwerk. Divided Horizon originates from a contrasting duality in Aki’s music. An older, classical sound reminiscent of the baroque era is combined with a minimalist influence and electronic abstraction. It’s this blend that gives Aki his distinctive sound and identity. Conceptually, its bursting with originality and integrity, the sound quality is pristine, the playing rhythmic and shining with brilliance. Here we have a pianist of exceptional ability, bringing together new elements in a way never heard before. The Oniwerk is an instrument of unique conception - an experimental hybrid keyboard invented by Leonardo da Vinci. It both plucks and bows, combining a harpsichord and violin sound in one.

1. Vallons
2. Stream Lines
3. Cold Code
4. Leisure
5. Divided Horizon
6. My Finnish Heart
7. Omniwerk Interlude
8. Prelude Oblique
9. Kuusikko
10. Bonfire Ballet
11. Great Expectations
12. Deciphered
13. One Goes In Straightforward Ways

More From This Artist: Aki Rissanen

Shipping calculated at checkout.