New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists Khruangbin: Late Night Tales [2LP]

Late Night Tales

  • £26.98

Release date: 4th December 2020
Formats: 2LP 
Label: Late Night Tales
Catalogue Number: ALNLP60 
Barcode: 2LP: 5060391093185
Genre: Balearic/Electronic

Back in 21st January 2021

LP FORMAT DETAILS: Both LP formats are pressed on double 180 gram virgin vinyl. Includes 30cm art print. Including download codes for the Khruangbin mix and full unmixed tracks as MP3 / FLAC / WAV.
The 2LP version is pressed on black vinyl. 

Hot on the heels of ‘Mordechai’, the critically acclaimed third album from US psych-rockers Khruangbin, the Texas trio are set to become the latest act to present their own LateNightTales in the popular, long-running musician-curated album series.

Having first come to prominence in 2013 when producer and D.J. Bonobo included Khruangbin’s ‘A Calf Born in Winter’ in his own collection of songs for the series, the little known Houston trio had yet to release an album, but have since gone on to become international superstars forming their own exotic, individual sound. “The LateNightTales series is such a special thing to be a part of because we wouldn’t have made it if it wasn’t for Bonobo’s LateNightTales, because that’s how we got into the LNT family – and got a break.”

With a mind-blowing selection of tracks that cross borders and cultures, Khruangbin’s deep love of global grooves – from Asian pop to Nigerian reggae – Japanese mellow groove to Latina flavas – are steeped in eclecticism; Nazia Hassan’s Hindi-disco ‘Khushi’, produced by British-Indian legend Biddu, South Korean rock band Sanullim who contribute ‘Don’t Go’, a pair of African bangers from Nigerian Maxwell Udoh and Roha Band, from Ethiopia; a diversion to Belarus for Песняры and thence to Madrid for the strident vocal performance of Paloma San Basilio with ‘Contigo’ before hightailing back to Texas.

Elsewhere, the Lone Star state reps proudly, with David Marez and Kelly Doyle plus, in the LateNightTales tradition, the band deliver an exclusive, horizontally brilliant version of Kool & The Gang’s ‘Summer Madness’, while the mix concludes with a spoken word piece by Tierney Malone, accompanied by fellow Houstonian Geoffrey Muller’s atmospheric banjo rendering of Erik Satie’s ‘Gnossienne’.

“It’s cool to think about what you would listen to late at night, as a band together, lighting a spliff, kinda vibe. We definitely wanted to cover as much global territory as possible; so it was the globe and then home. We wanted to show the treasures from our hometown, or people from our hometown that the rest of the world probably doesn’t know. That’s what makes Khruangbin Khruangbin. The stubbornness about being so hometown-centric but what makes Houston is this this constant international influence.

That’s that gulf stream, bringing it right into Houston. So I guess that’s kind of the theme.” The LateNightTales series was established back in 2001 with Fila Brazilia taking to the controls and mixing up the first of what would continue to be the first choice of music connoisseurs worldwide. Since then, the series has seen releases from the likes of The Flaming Lips, Hot Chip, Floating Points, David Holmes, Bonobo, Jon Hopkins, Röyksopp and many more.

Unmixed Vinyl Version (includes mixed and unmixed tracks as download)

A1. Carlos Santana - Illuminations
A2. Brilliantes Del Veulo - I Know That
A3. Nazia Hassan - Khushi
A4. Kelly Doyle - DRM
B5. Sanulim - Don't Go
B6. Maxwell Udoh - I Like It
B7. David Marez - Enseñame
B8. Gerald Lee - Can You Feel The Love
C9. Justine & The Victorian Punks - Still You
C10. George Yanagi - 「祭ばやしが聞こえる」のテーマ
C11. Песняры - Зачарованная моя
D12. Khruangbin - Summer Madness (Exclusive Track)
D13. Paloma San Basilio - Contigo
D14. Roha Band - Yetikimt Abeba
D15. Tierney Malone & Geoffrey Muller - Transmission for Jehn: Gnossienne No 1

More From This Artist: Various Artists

Shipping calculated at checkout.