New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

UB40 - Collected

music on vinyl

  • £32.85
FORMAT - 2xLP limited numbered gatefold 180 gram audiophile transparent vinyl
RELEASE DATE 10th Jul 2020
Genres -Classics/Ska

Track Listing
A1. Tyler
A2. Burden Of Shame
A3. I Think It's Going To Rain Today
A4. Food For Thought
A5. Don't Do The Crime
B1. One In Ten
B2. Sardonicus
B3. Please Don't Make Me Cry
B4. Cherry Oh Baby
B5. Red Red Wine
B6. If It Happens Again
B7. Don't Slow Down
C1. I Got You Babe (feat Chrissie Hynde)
C2. Don't Break My Heart
C3. Sing Our Own Song
C4. Rat In My Kitchen
C5. All I Want To Do
C6. Maybe Tomorrow
C7 Afrika Bambaataa & Family - Reckless (feat UB40)
D1. Breakfast In Bed (feat Chrissie Hynde)
D2. Homely Girl
D3. Kingston Town
D4. Robert Palmer - I'll Be Your Baby Tonight (feat UB40)
D5. Tears From My Eyes
D6. Here I Am (Come & Take Me)
D7. (I Can't Help) Falling In Love With You

Early 1980, UB40 scored their first success with “Food For Thought”, reaching high positions in the charts. By the time they released their first album they were already so successful that they had signed off on unemployment benefit, leading to the stamped Signing Off featured on form 40, for the sleeve of their debut album. UB40 Collected has captured all the different phases of the band in one complete album, classic hits combined with the new!

The members of UB40 chose their name after a piece of paper most of them were all too familiar with: Unemployment Benefit, form 40, in short: UB40. The name was put on posters and the band was promoted even before each member fully understood his instrument. The first dub album ever to reach the album charts in the U.K. included “One In Ten” and “Don’t Slow Down”. In 1983 the band put on a new project, boasting ten cover versions of Jamaican hits and, contrary to low expectations, it became a huge hit and the band’s first number one album. Tracks included are “Cherry Oh Baby”, “Please Don’t Make Me Cry”, and “Red Red Wine”. The latter was a rather poppy song and became the band’s biggest-selling single ever, entailing their definitive worldwide breakthrough.

There have been lots of collaborations through the years and most of these became huge hit songs. Together with Chrissie Hynde, UB40 recorded two singles: “I Got You Babe” (1985) and “Breakfast In Bed” (1988). They teamed up with Afrika Bambaataa for “Reckless” (1988) and with Robert Palmer the band released “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight” (1990), just to name a few.

UB40 Collected is available as a limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on transparent vinyl.

More From This Artist: UB40

Shipping calculated at checkout.