1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Groove Armada - Late Night Tales: Groove Armada [2LP]

Late Night Tales

  • £26.10

Format: 2 x LP
Catalogue No.: ALNLP20
Barcode: 5060391094489
Release Date: 20 Oct 2023
Genre: Electronic/Chill Out

Black vinyl
Pressed on double 180 gram virgin vinyl. Includes 30cm art print. Including download codes for the unmixed tracks and original DJ mix in MP3 / FLAC / WAV formats.

If it’s a smorgasbord of rare mellowtronica and dance music from two of the UK’s most esteemed curators you’re after, then you could do worse than to check out this brand new reissue of Late Night Tales: Groove Armada that was originally released in 2008.
For their second team-up with the legendary label (and a release that even the BBC admits 'offers a selection of some great tunes'), Andy Cato and Tom Findlay have painstakingly compiled a collection of songs so varied, it’ll leave even the most open-minded listener occasionally scratching their head. And yet, somehow, it works - from an unlikely cover of Gary Numan’s ‘Are (Friends) Electric?’ to the arcane Americana of Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve’s mix of Roscoe via a Balaeric edit of Will Young and a White Isle-ready edit of Chris Rea’s Josephine, the good ship Armada never fails to entrance. All aboard!

“When I look back on my career the two things I’m prob- ably most proud of were the compilations we curated and the live show. They were two things I think we do really well.

How many of them are still tunes that I play now? Obviously it's got ‘Josephine’ which is an Ibizan anthem and it’s soundtracked all my best times in Ibiza. There are the times you find yourself playing one of those nice beachside bars or an afterparty somewhere, and you play that record and it raises a roof and this edit is one I play all the time, even now.” Tom Findlay, Sept 2023

A1 The League Unlimited Orchestra - The Things That Dreams Are Made Of 5:09
A2 Roxy Music Love Is The Drug 4:06
A3 Kitty Grant Glad To Know You 5:08
A4 Depeche Mode Enjoy The Silence 4:30
B1 Max Berlin - Elle & Moi (Joakim Remix) 8:29
B2 The African Dream - Makin’ A Living 5:46
B2 Midlake - Roscoe (Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve Remix) 6:54
C1 Liquid People - Son Of Dragon 7:57
C2 Ace - How Long 3:24
C3 Chris Rea - Josephine (French Edit) 7:07
C4 Will Young - Friday’s Child (Andy Cato Edit) 4:08

D1 Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell You’re All I Need To Get By 2:50
D2 Groove Armada - Are ‘Friends’ Electric? 4:29(exclusive cover version)
D3 Peter, Bjorn And John - The Chills 3:50
D4 The Cure - Close To Me 3:40
D5 Finley Quaye - Even After All Dub (Clean Version) 7:16
D6 Will Self - The Happy Detective (Part 1) 1:52 (exclusive spoken word track written by Will Self)

More From This Artist: Groove Armada

Shipping calculated at checkout.